January Newsletter

at https://www.westcheshireac.co.uk/docs/load.php?id=1525

Shell Round the Walls report

John Gilbert and Emma Parry celebrated success at the popular Chester Round The Walls Race on Boxing Day.Gilbert, representing Kent AC, and Parry, of Wrexham AC, won the mens and ladies titles respectively at the 40th anniversary event organised by West Cheshire Athletic Club from Chester Racecourse.
Gilbert, who retained the Chester Walls title after his win last year, headed the 424 finishers in the blustery conditions and completed the 4.5 miles course in a time of 25 minutes 56 seconds.
The former Warrington-based distance running ace, who won the Kent Cross Country Championships earlier this year and finished third in the English Championships at the London Marathon in April, finished 49 seconds clear of second-placed Matthew Jackson on the Roodee.
Jackson, representing Liverpool Harriers, clocked 26:45, and third placed 2009 Chester Walls title winner Daniel Cliffe (Warrington AC) posted 26:58, ahead of Buckley Runners Matthew Rose (fourth in 28:13), Sale Harriers Ian Wetherall (fifth in 28:32), and Gary Norgrove (first over-40 veteran and sixth overall in 29:16).
Over-35 veteran Parry, who won the ladies title in 2007, secured success again this year with a time of 32:42, ahead of second placed Sarah Griffiths (Leigh Harriers) with 33 minutes who had won the ladies race last year, while Wirral ACs Sarah Kearney clocked 33:25 for third position.
Former West Cheshire AC member Alec Beaney, represented City of Norwich AC, and posted 29:31 for eighth position, ahead of Chester Tri Clubs Duncan Harris (first over-45 veteran and 10th overall in 29:50), while Helsbys Adair Broughton clocked 30:16 for 13th spot.
Deeside AAC duo David Lemon (31:20) and Tom Snowden (31:24) finished 17th and 18th respectively, while Buckleys Jonathan Bradshaw completed the course in 20th place with 31:29.
Wrexham ACs first man home was Mike Robbins (21st in 31:31), just ahead of Chester Tri s Neil Pownall (23rd in 31:53), Andrew Howarth (25th in 32:24), and Keith Dandy (27th in 32:29).
Peter Brook completed the route in a gorilla suit in 37th position (33:17), while his club mates Phil Townsend (34:03) and Simon Greenwood (34:06) finished 53rd and 54th respectively.
Buckleys Stephen Bellis achieved 34:16 for 55th spot and the first over-55 veteran prize, and Ravi Jayaram of Chester Tri finished 58th in 34:33, ahead of Ellesmere Port Running Clubs Tony Hyland (62nd in 34:51), and Ellesmere Port-based Kate Titlow (Warrington AC) who was 63rd in 34:52.
West Cheshire ACs Joe Foy posted 34:52 for 64th position, while Ken Begley (Chester Tri), dressed as a duck, clocked 35:02 for 68th position.
Wrexham ACs Tony Parry finished 69th in 35:04, ahead of Ellesmere Ports Michael Burns (73rd in 35:12), Chester Tri s Julie Webb (first over-35 veteran and 76th overall in 35:30), and Deestriders duo Martin Witty (81st in 35:54) and Nick Chadwick (85th in 36:04).
Jayne Joy (Helsby) clocked 36:05 for 86th spot, while Wrecsam Tris Peter Ellis finished 87th in 36:08, ahead of Buckleys Paul Donoghue (88th in 36:13), and Ellesmere Ports Nicola Bird (89th in 36:17).
Daniel Pedley (Wrexham AC) covered the route in 36:34 for 92nd spot, ahead of Tattenhalls Simon Bowden (93rd in 36:35), and Chester Tri duo Nick Eastwood (95th in 36:36), and Magnus Walker (98th in 36:45).
Buckleys Paul Stinton finished 102nd in 37 minutes, ahead of Chester Tri s Aaron Riley (103rd in 37:05), Wrecsam Tri s Iorwerth Jones (first over-65 man and 104th overall in 37:06), and Helsbys Geoff Shaw (107th in 37:13).
Geoff Richards (Wrexham AC) clocked 37:33 for 113th position, while Buckleys Dawn Urquhart was 123rd in 37:48, and the Chester Tri quartet of Lee Stockman (128th in 37:59), Julian Evitts (130th in 38:01), David Husband (132nd in 38:09), and Dominique Miller (142nd in 38:44) were followed home by Buckleys John Morris (144th in 38:45) and Tattenhalls Laynie Stothart (145th in 38:46).
Wrecsam Tri s Kim Norgrove finished first over-45 veteran and 152nd overall in 39:10, ahead of Chester Tri s Linda Worrall (first over-50 veteran and 155th overall in 39:18), and David Wilson (39:27).
Rosemary Rogers won the over 55 womens award after finishing 171st overall in 39:41, and Malcolm Parry (unattached), claimed the first over-70 mens award after finishing 258th in 43:34.
West Cheshire AC were represented by Mark Povey (161st in 39:27), Neil McIntyre (173rd in 39:48), Jillian Carter (241st in 43:07), Brian Beattie (259th in 43:38), and by Paula Jones (389th in 54:04).
Former multiple Chester Walls Race winner Bashir Hussain (Stockport Harriers) won the one mile fun run with a time of five minutes 14 seconds.
He was joined in the field by second placed Lewis Parry (5:45), and third placed Joseph Morrison (5:46).
Nicola Harris was the first female finisher, clocking 6:05 for fifth place overall, ahead of Tess Corr (second lady and eighth overall in 6:42), and third lady Emma Flanagan (6:55).

December Newsletter

Download https://www.westcheshireac.co.uk/docs/load.php?id=1518

Your Help Urgently Needed

Your Help is Urgently Needed at the Roodee on Boxing day from 08:00 to set up the Walls and Fun Run courses and marshalling duties. The profits from this race help to keep membership and training fees down so come down to the Roodee and clear out any Xmas cobwebs and hangovers. Any helpers should please contact race marshalls organiser Bob Benson in advance of the day to confirm their attendance by emailing him at:[email protected]

London Marathon-WCAC Entries

West Cheshire AC have awarded their four club entries for the 2012 London Marathon to Neil McIntyre, James Docherty, and husband and wife Darryl and Jane Pickering

Schools Cross-country League Results

Revised WCAC Schools Cross-country League Round 2 results and standings are available to view at https://westcheshireac.co.uk/Offroad/crosscountry/junopenschoolscc

WCAC Endurance League latest

Andrew Clague and Mary Radford head the West Cheshire AC mens and ladies endurance league respectively at the end of November.

Clague has 108 points, ahead of second placed Dave Hough with 83, and Max Woods in third spot with 65.

Radford leads the womens standings with 65 points, from second placed Lisa Davies on 45, and Sacha Kendall-Woods in third spot with 44.

Full Details at


News Menu