County Cross Country Medalists.

Dave Alexander won the Mens over-40 mens title at Nantwich after finishing second veteran overall and ninth position in the senior mens race overall and the U11 Boys team won the silver medal.Mark Lathom spearheaded West Cheshire ACs charge to team silver medals at the Cheshire County AA Cross Country Championships.
He finished fourth in the under 11 boys race at Reaseheath, Nantwich, with a time of seven minutes 12 seconds, and was backed-up by Elijah Montez-Brown (eighth in 7:37), and by Joseph Morrison (10th in 7:46) to earn second team position.
Other West Cheshire AC under 11 boys in action included Josh Hinchly (14th in 8:03), Cameron Weaver (17th in 8:19), Jack Johnson (18th in 8:24), Matthew Bate (20th in 8:31), and Thomas Harrop (22nd in 8:54).

Six West Cheshire AC members will represent their county in Birmingham next month after securing top-12 finishes at Reaseheath.
Dave Alexander, Amy Hinchly, Charlotte Frazer-Cox, Chris Goodwin, Ryan Friett, and Grace ORourke are all preparing to compete for Cheshire at the Inter-Counties Cross Country Championships, to be held at Cofton Park, Birmingham, on March 13.

Dave Alexander, who won the West Cheshire AC Mens Cup at his clubs annual presentation evening earlier this month, won the over-40 mens title at Nantwich after finishing second veteran overall and ninth position in the senior mens race overall.

Dave covered the Reaseheath course in a time of 38 minutes 29 seconds, backed up by Jeff Kettle (26th in 41:02), Andrew Clague (29th in 41:27), Russell Kirk (50th in 43:41), Chris Rhodes running his first cross country event (88th and sixth over-50 veteran in 49:02), and Dave Hough (91st and third over-60 finisher in 49:44).

Amy Hinchly continued her impressive form by securing seventh spot in the under 13 girls race with a time of 12 minutes 32 seconds, ahead of Ellen McMahon (26th in 14:11), and Sally Pickering (29th in 14:27).

Charlotte Frazer-Cox booked her place in Birmingham by finishing seventh in the under 17 ladies race in a time of 20 minutes 25 seconds.

Chris Goodwin (seventh in 21:59) and Ryan Friett (11th in 22:59) completed the under 17 mens race.

And Grace ORourke negotiated the senior ladies race to post seventh position in 32 minutes one second.

West Cheshires under 11 girls were lead home by Emily Titlow (14th in 8:58), who finished ahead of Molly Sharples (16th in 9:04), and Sophie Davis (19th in 9:29).

Jonathan Frazer-Cox finished 18th in 18:45 in the under 15 boys race, while Mark Hearn (19th in 12:23), Chris Harrop (24th in 12:58), and Joshua Bate (31st in 14:20) completed the under 13 boys race.

Award Night Winners

Bryony Potter and Dave Alexander have been awarded with West Cheshire ACs main awards at the clubs annual presentation evening.
Bryony won the Ladies Cup after finishing fifth at last years English Schools Track and Field Championships, as well as smashing two club records and securing a gold medal at the Cheshire Championships.

And Dave was honoured with the Mens Cup after a busy 2009 which featured a host of impressive performances including an appearance at the World Mountain Running Championships in Croatia where he distinguished himself as the first Briton to complete the over-40 veterans event.

Jenna Sheehy claimed the Wright Cup which was donated several years ago by the Wright family who were West Cheshire AC members before emigrating to Australia.

Sacha Kendall-Woods and Andrew Clague received the ladies and mens Endurance Running Cups after a series of pleasing road and cross country appearances during 2009.

Rob Tudor and Glenys Potter won the Veteran Men and Veteran Womens Awards respectively, while John Manning and Niamh Reilly claimed the Senior Men and Senior Woman accolades.

Tom Walley was the winner of the Under 20 Junior Mans award, and Emily Done won the Under 20 Junior Lady prize.

Multi-eventer Tom Booth claimed the Under 17 Mens award, and sprinter Leah Ferrie clinched the Under 17 Lady title.

Michael Bailiff, who produced a series of superb high jumping performances, won the under 15 prize, and shot-putter Kelly Baker claimed the under 15 girls award.

Charlotte Williamson was distinguished as the under 13 girl winner, while James McMahon won the under 13 boys prize.

Elijah Montez-Brown claimed the under 11 boys award, while Georgia Barlow and Olivia Williams both won under 11 girls awards.

News Menu