Press Report: WCAC busy over short and long distances

SEVERAL West Cheshire Athletic Club members celebrated podium places at the weekend.

Fiona Cook finished second lady in the Chester Ultra 50 Miles Race which started and finished at the Ellesmere Port Sports Village Athletics Track.

Fiona covered the route which covered trails along the North Cheshire Way and the Sandstone Trail featuring Helsby Hill, Delamere Forest and Frodsham. 

Fiona crossed the finish line in eight hours 16 minutes 23 seconds, while Dave Shearer was sixth man in 8:08:16.

POPPY McKENNA secured second spot in the year five/six girls race at Worksop College in the National Independent Schools Cross Country Championships.

Poppy was backed up by King’s School Chester team mates Florence Hain (19th), Felicity Snowden (34th), and by Ava Phillips who finished 16th in the year four girls race.

LEWIS MORRIS and Ben Newall were first and third for their age group at the Oulton Park 5km Race.

Lewis clocked 16:56 in his under 15 age category, ahead of Ben who secured third position at the Cheshire race circuit.

JODI BEMAND sliced 31 seconds off her under 20 Club record 10k time at Partington in the Trafford 10k with a time of 38:58.

Jodi was joined at the event by her mum, Debra, who posted 47:14, and by Chris Shaw who clocked 37:11.

JEFF LAMBERT posted 2:11:20 at the Anglesey Half Marathon which was his fastest 13.1 miles time for seven years and he sliced four minutes off his time at the same fixture last year.

FIXTURES this weekend include the Inter Counties Cross Country Championships at Wollaton Park, Nottingham, on Saturday, March 9; the Chester 10k Road Race on Sunday, March 10; a Manchester Indoor Open Track and Field meeting on Sunday, March 10; and the Cheshire Primary and Secondary Schools Sportshall Finals at Ellesmere Port Sports Village, on Monday, March 11.

WEST CHESHIRE AC are organising two Spring Open Track and Field Competitions at Ellesmere Port Sports Village Athletics Track on Saturdays, March 23 and April 6.

The online entry link for March 23 is:

https://meets.rosterathletics.com/public/competitions/details/about?id=24832

And the online entry link for April 6 is:

https://meets.rosterathletics.com/public/competitions/details/about?id=24857

WEST CHESHIRE AC is organising a Level One Field Judging Course at Ellesmere Port Sports Village Trackside Room on Tuesday, March 19, and Thursday, March 21. The booking link is: https://www.athleticshub.co.uk/login?s_id=3e88eb179f96025cb3ff0ec954d0451d

FORTHCOMING fixtures include the British Masters Cross Country Championships, at Rhug Estate, Corwen, on Saturday, March 16; the Borders Road Running League at Hoylake on Sunday, March 17; the Cheshire v Merseyside Year 7 Schools Cross Country Match at Ellesmere Port Sports Village on Wednesday, March 20; the West Cheshire AC Spring Open Track and Field Meeting at Ellesmere Port Sports Village on Saturday, March 23; the Wilmslow Half Marathon on Sunday, March 24; and a North West Open Indoor Combined Events Meeting at Deeside College, Connah’s Quay on Sunday, March 24.

WEST CHESHIRE AC has a busy schedule of fixtures lined up for the year ahead.

The Ellesmere Port Sports Village-based outfit will host the Cheshire County Schools Track and Field Championships, the Cheshire County Track Relay Championships, and the English Schools Track and Field Cup Regional B Final.

The Cheshire Schools Championships take place on Saturday, June 8, while the Cheshire County Track Relay Championships will take place on Thursdays, July 4 and 11, and the English Schools Track and Field Cup Regional B Final will be held on Wednesday, June 5.

West Cheshire AC will compete in the Under 13/Under 15 Youth Development League West Premier Division at Trafford on Sunday, April 21; at Liverpool on Sunday, May 19; at Preston on Sunday, June 23; and at Bebington Oval on Saturday, July 20.

And the Club will participate in the Under 17/Under 20 Youth Development Track and Field League North West Division One at Blackpool on Sunday, April 28; at Leigh on Sunday, May 26; and at Wigan on Sunday, June 30.

The Club’s Northern Track and Field League squad will take part in West Premier Division fixtures at Blackburn on Saturday, May 18; at Litherland on Saturday, June 15; at Bury on Sunday, July 14; and at Ellesmere Port on Saturday, August 17.

West Cheshire AC will host the opening round of the Cheshire Track and Field League on Saturday, April 27, and other fixtures will be held on Sunday, June 2; Sunday, July 21; and Sunday, August 25.

West Cheshire AC will also host their annual Secondary Schools Track and Field Cup match on Wednesday, May 1; and the annual Cheshire v Merseyside Year 7 Schools Track and Field fixture in July.

FURTHER details about West Cheshire Athletic Club can be found at: www.westcheshireac.co.uk

Posted by Dave Alexander
5th March 2024
General

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu