Press Report: Success On road and country

LINDSAY FISHER pointed West Cheshire Athletic Club’s ladies to a team victory on Sunday in a Borders Road Running League record-breaking field of 473 runners.

Lindsay clocked 32 minutes 32 seconds for the 5.5 miles course at Birkenhead Park in the second round fixture to help earn her purple-vested squad top spot in Division Two.

Lindsay, who finished first over-35 lady and third lady overall, was backed up by Keely Smith (first over-40 lady and fifth lady overall in 33:58), Fiona Cook (third over-35 lady and seventh lady overall in 34:31), Amanda Newall (eighth over-45 lady and 45th lady overall in 40:40), Joy Hickman (fourth over-55 lady and 48th lady overall in 40:54), Clare Mallon (11th over-45 lady and 70th lady overall in 42:49), Agnieszka Shaw (19th over-40 lady and 80th lady overall in 44:43), Amy Mills (13th over-35 lady and 87th lady overall in 45:21), Debra Bemand (10th over-50 lady and 90th lady overall in 45:48), and Traci Shipley (eighth over-55 lady and 96th lady overall in 46:41).

Michael Young headed the West Cheshire AC men’s squad after posting 28:47 for seventh position, ahead of Graham Wells (sixth over-45 and 37th overall in 31:11), Jon Park (55th in 32:19), Wullie McGarrell (first over-55 and 70th overall in 33:04), Neil Hershaw (second over-55 and 80th overall in 33:39), and Rob Little (14th over-45 and 91st overall in 34:07), to earn the club second place in Division Two.

Back-up for the men’s squad was provided by Chris Shaw (16th over-45 and 112th overall in 34:42), Jeff Gifford (fifth over-55 and 118th overall in 34:56), Steve Duffy (18th over-45 and 122nd overall in 35:12), Paul Morrison (162nd in 37:03), Richard Hayes (16th over-50 and 166th overall in 37:11), Paul Cain (30th over-50 and 237th overall in 40:53), Brian Wright (third over-70 and 260th overall in 42:31), Dave Tiernan (23rd over-55 and 283rd overall in 45:15), and Tony Kennedy (17th over-65 and 302nd overall in 47:30).


WOMEN’S DIVISION ONE: 1 Deeside 72; 2 Wallasey 148; 3 UTS 176; 4 Buckley 219; 5 Helsby 301; 6 Wirral 329; 7 Ellesmere Port 426.

WOMEN’S DIVISION TWO: 1 West Cheshire 60; 2 Penjsby 105; 3 Chester Tri 217; 4 Prestatyn 265; 5 Wrexham 308; 6 Deestriders 311; 7 Eryri 383; 8 Wrecsam Tri 543; 9 Cybi 615; 10 Tattenhall 629; 11 Birkenhead 800.

MEN’S DIVISION ONE: 1 Wrexham 353 points; 2 Buckley 421; 3 Wallsaey 422; 4 Helsby 475; 5 Chester Tri 545; 6 Wirral 679; 7 Ellesmere Port 953.

MEN’S DIVISION TWO: 1 Deeside 130; 2 West Cheshire 423; 3 Prestatyn 655; 4 UTS 666; 5 Pensby 729; 6 Eryri 928; 7 Wrecsam Tri 1000; 8 Deestriders 1068; 9 Birkenhead 1583; 10 Cybi 1790; 11 Tattenhall 3164.

TEAM RESULTS (After Two Rounds):

WOMEN’S DIVISION ONE: 1 Deeside 138; 2 Wallasey 305; 3 UTS 417; 4 Buckley 482; 5 Helsby 588; 6 Ellesmere Port 818; 6 Wirral 1157.

WOMEN’S DIVISION TWO: 1 West Cheshire 138; 2 Pensby 211; 3 Chester Tri 400; 4 Prestatyn 437; 5 Eryri 439; 6 Wrexham 596; 7 Deestriders 685; 8 Cybi 729; 9 Wrecsam Tri 1235; 10 Birkenhead 1389; Tattenhall 1429.

MEN’S DIVISION ONE: 1 Buckley 686; 2 Wallasey 1002; 3 Helsby 1020; 4 Wrexham 1360; 5 Wirral 1584; 6 Ellesmere Port 1669; 7 Chester Tri 1698.

MEN’S DIVISION TWO: 1 Deeside 544; 2 West Cheshire 693; 3 Prestatyn 1274; 4 Eryri 1438; 5 Pensby 1531; 6 UTS 1630; 7 Deestriders 1717; 8 Cybi 2197; 9 Wrecsam Tri 2218; 10 Birkenhead 3731; 11 Tattenhall 6346.

The next round will be held on Sunday, December 3, at Wrexham.

FARNDON celebrated a 1-2-3 finish in the year three boys race at the second round of the West Cheshire AC Schools Cross Country Race Series held on Saturday at Ellesmere Port Sports Village.

Henry Glyn, Blake Robinson and Oscar Sheppard combined for Farndon who were also represented by year five girls winner, Zara Evans, who finished ahead of Oldfield’s Saskia Keresturova and Hoole’s Alice Roberts Page in second and third places respectively.

Acresfield-based brothers Aubrey and Caleb Newman grabbed glory in their races, with Aubrey winning the year four boys race ahead of Niall Betteridge (Hoole) and Xavier Slinn (Boughton Heath), and Caleb finishing in top spot in the year five boys race ahead of Jack Arnold (Upton Heath) and Alfie Simms (Whitby Heath).

Bishop Heber celebrated victories in the year seven girls and year seven boys races thanks to Nia Manson and Lewis Dutton. Nia finished ahead of Amelia Snowden (Kings) and Rose Sheppard (Helsby), while Lewis won his race ahead of Sidney Carr (Upton).

Poppy McKenna (Kings) won the year six girls race ahead of Elsie Jones (Willaston) and Marie-Ange Robson (Childer Thornton), while Leon Betteridge (Hoole) finished ahead of Jacob Wilson (Willaston) and Leo Ravenscroft (Childer Thornton) in the year six boys race.

Arlanwen Setters of Hoole won the year three girls race ahead of Niamh Rowlands (Woodlands) and Rose Riley-Pickup (Eccleston), while Abby Gamble (Guilden Sutton) won the year four girls race ahead of Polly Morait (Farndon) and Molly Lee (Newton).

Dylan Gledhill (Christleton) won the year eight boys race ahead of Tarporley’s Max Henderson and Christleton’s Dylan Chandler, while Poppy Coates (West Kirby) finished ahead of Lauren Higgins (Queens) in the year eight girls race. 

The next round will be held on Saturday, November 18. 

ENTRIES for this year’s Chester Round The Walls Race on Boxing Day are still being received and all finishers will receive a commemorative medal to mark the event’s anniversary. The online entry link is:

FIXTURES this weekend include the second round of the Manchester Cross Country League, on Saturday, at Wythenshawe Park.

THE next round of the North Wales Cross Country League will take place at a new course around Boreatton Park, Baschurch, Shrewsbury, on Saturday, November 25. 

THE West Cheshire AC AGM will be held on Tuesday, November 28, in the EPSV Trackside Room, at 8.15pm.

Posted by Dave Alexander
11th November 2023

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu