Press Report: Home Success for WCAC

LINDSAY FISHER and Keely Smith secured a one-two on Sunday in the Chester Metric Marathon.

The West Cheshire Athletic Club pair impressed in the women’s event, with Lindsay clocking a winning time of one hour 42 minutes 34 seconds, and Keely posting 1:49:29 for second place overall and first spot in her over-40 age group.

Michael Young achieved second position in the men’s metric marathon race overall with a time of 1:28:07, and Wullie McGarrell won his over-55 men’s age category with a time of 1:49:29.

Other West Cheshire AC finishers in the Chester Metric Marathon included Dave Shearer (1:42:03), Danny Paddock (1:49:28), Steve Hillier (2:04:33), Brian Cremin (2:09:28), Julian Tegg (2:26:38), Angela Tegg (2:26:38), John Blake (2:28:55), and Kimberly Morris (2:34:35).

Fiona Cook finished third in her over-35 age group in the Chester Marathon with a time of 2:59:33.

Other West Cheshire AC finishers in the 26.2 miles event included Steve Duffy (2:58:41), Emma Nutt (3:30:02), Richard Hayes (4:11:13), and Richard Hunt (4:27:41).

A TOTAL of 164 pupils from 37 different schools competed in the opening round of the West Cheshire AC Schools Cross Country Race Series held on Saturday morning at Ellesmere Port Sports Village.

Acresfield, Hoole, and Kings celebrated double success stories, with Aubrey Newman and Caleb Newman heading the Acresfield charge, while Arianwen Setters and Leon Betteridge starring for Hoole, while Felicity Snowden and Poppy McKenna triumphed for Kings.

Aubrey won the year four boys race ahead of Niall Betteridge (Hoole) and Oliver Chesby (Whitby Heath) who were second and third, while Caleb won the year five boys race from Upton Heath duo Jack Arnold and Jack McWilliams who were second and third respectively.

Felicity won the year five girls race ahead of Oldfield’s Saskia Keresturova and Alice Roberts-Paige (Hoole) who were second and third, while

Poppy won the year six girls race ahead of Willaston’s Elsie Jones and Marie-Ange Robson (Childer Thornton).

Arianwen delivered success in the year three girls race ahead of Penny Sharps-Green (Upton Heath) and Florence Richards (Farndon) who were second and third, while Leon won the year six boys race ahead of runner up Jacob Wilson (Willaston) and third placed Jacob Senn (St Martins).

Myron Rafalskyi (Saughall) won the year three boys race ahead of Farndon pair Blake Robinson and Henry Glynn who were second and third respectively.

Poppy Tromans (Newton) won the year four girls race ahead of Farndon’s Polly Morait and Abby Gamble (Guilden Sutton) who were second and third.

Nia Manson (Bishop Heber) won the year seven girls race ahead of Amelia Snowden (Kings) and Harriet Buckley (Christleton), while Poppy Coates (West Kirby) won the year eight girls race.

Dylan Gledhill (Christleton) grabbed glory in the year eight boys race ahead of Tarporley’s Max Henderson and Dylan Chandler (Christleton) who were second and third respectively. 

The next round will be held on Saturday, November 4, at Ellesmere Port Sports Village.

FIXTURES this weekend include the first round of the Manchester Area Cross Country League at Heaton Park on Saturday (12 noon start), the second round of the North Staffs Cross Country League at Stafford Common on Saturday (12 noon start), and the first round of the North Wales Junior League (10.30am start) and Senior League (12.50pm start) on Saturday at Treborth, Bangor, while the Manchester Half Marathon takes place on Sunday (8.55am start). 

Posted by Dave Alexander
10th October 2023

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu