Press Report: Records for WCAC Duo

Sarah Hibbert and Ruby Phillips are celebrating club record-breaking performances, following impressive displays at Aintree, and Sheffield respectively.

Sarah, withΒ Wullie McGarrell as her pacer, clocked a new personal best of 1:47:00 at the Aintree Half Marathon, to win her over-55 age category and secure a new club record.

And Ruby pocketed a silver medal after clocking a new under 15 girls 800m personal best and club record time of 2:16.62 at the National Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Keely Smith helped Cheshire celebrate a team victory against North Wales and Shropshire at the Rhyl 10 Miles Road Race, finishing first in her new over-40 age group in 61 minutes 11 seconds.

ENTRIES are now open for the West Cheshire AC 25th Anniversary Open Track and Field Meetings being held at Ellesmere Port Sports Village Athletics Track on Saturday, March 18, and Sunday, March 26. The live entry link for online entries is: https://wcac.niftyentries.com/Track-Field-Open-Meetings-2023

ENTRIES have now opened for the Chester Spring Five Miles Road Race being organised by West Cheshire AC at Cheshire County Sports Club, Upton, on Wednesday 12th April (7pm start). The online link for entries is: https://wcac.niftyentries.com/Chester-Spring-5-2023

Any West Cheshire AC member entering this event is reminded to provide a helper/marshal to assistΒ 

FIXTURES this weekend include the English Cross Country Championships at Bolesworth Castle, Tattenhall, on Saturday.

The timetable is: 11am – Under 17 Women (5km); 11.25am – Under 15 Boys (4km); 11.45am – Under 13 Girls (3km); 12.05pm – Under 17 Men (6km); 12.30pm – Under 13 Boys (3km); 12.45pm – Under 15 Girls (4km); 1.05pm – Under 20 Junior Women (6km); 1.35pm – Senior Women (8km); 2.20pm – Under 20 Junior Men (10km); 3pm – Senior Men (12km).

FORTHCOMING fixtures include the Chester Ultra 50 Miles Race from Ellesmere Port Sports Village on Saturday, March 4; the Chester Primary Schools Cross Country Championships at Ellesmere Port Sports Village, on Monday, March 6; the Inter Counties Cross Country Championships at Prestwold Hall, Loughborough, on Saturday, March 11; and the Manchester Cross Country League at Heaton Park, on Saturday, March 11; the Manchester Indoor Open Track and Field Meeting on Sunday, March 12; and the Chester 10k Road Race on Sunday, March 12.

WEST CHESHIRE AC will host both the Cheshire County Clubs’ Track and Field Championships (Saturday and Sunday, May 13 and 14), and the Cheshire Secondary Schools Track and Field Championships (Saturday, June 10), at the Ellesmere Port Sports Village Athletics Track, as well as Cheshire Track and Field League matches on Saturday, April 23 and Sunday, September 3; a Under 17s and Under 20s Youth Development Track and Field League fixture on Sunday, April 30; a Under 13s and Under 15s Youth Development Track and Field League fixtures on Sunday, May 7 and Saturday, July 8; and a Northern Track and Field League fixture on Saturday, May 20. 

West Cheshire AC will also host the West Cheshire AC Secondary Schools Track and Cup Field Cup fixture on Wednesday, May 10; the County Round of the English Schools Track and Field Cup on Wednesday, May 17; the North West Regional B Final of the English Schools Track and Field Cup on Wednesday, June 14; the Chester Primary Schools Track and Field Championships on Monday, June 19; the Ellesmere Port and Neston Primary Schools Track and Field Championships on Friday, June 23; and the Cheshire v Merseyside Year Seven Track and Field Schools Championships on Wednesday, July 5. 

Posted by Dave Alexander
21st February 2023
General

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu