Press report: WCAC in Full Bloom for Meadows

JENNY MEADOWS praised West Cheshire Athletic Club at their annual awards evening.

The 36-year-old Great Britain international and Olympian was guest of honour at Brook Mollington Banastre for the club’s annual presentation and celebration of being named England Athletics North West Athletic Club of the Year.

Meadows provided an inspirational keynote speech at the sell-out ceremony which attracted 170 members, parents and friends of the Ellesmere Port Sports Village-based organisation.

Wigan-born Meadows revealed she had been impressed with the reception she had received at the event after presenting awards to members for endeavour and achievement.

“I feel honoured and privileged to attend West Cheshire’s annual presentation and I was very impressed with the organisation of the event,” Meadows said.

“It’s no wonder West Cheshire has been awarded the North West Athletics Club of the Year for a second consecutive year after seeing and feeling such warm hospitality from members and parents during the event.

“I can see how well run and organised West Cheshire is and I wanted to tell every member to wear their colours with pride because they are part of a great club.”

Emma Howe and George Hyde were presented with the women’s and men’s cups respectively after achieving England international honours within the past 12 months.

Howe achieved a bronze medal in the javelin at the Youth Commonwealth Games held in The Bahamas, and Hyde won the shot put title at the Schools International Championships staged in Dublin.

Joseph Morrison received the Chris Goodwin Cup from Claire Goodwin after producing his first-ever sub-two minute 800m, an impressive improvement from his personal best of 2:05:97 the year before.

Rory Willson and Ivor Smith were the joint winners of the Wright Trophy, while Ellie Robinson retained the Female Endurance Points Competition title, and Andrew Clague was presented with the Male Endurance Points Competition Cup.

The full list of West Cheshire AC award winners were:

Under 11 Girls: Jessica Lark and Maddi Mercer; Under 13 Girls: Imogen Pughe and Fatoumatta Bojang; Under 15 Girls: Anna Crayston and Abigail Cartwright; Under 17 Ladies: Issy Clarke and Beth McMahon; Under 20 Ladies: Katie Clarke and Georgia Barlow; Senior Ladies: Alice McMahon and Laura Turley; Veteran Ladies: Ellie Robinson and Clare Mallon.

Under 11 Boys: Reece Munro and Milo Halliday; Under 13 Boys: Sammy Hollins and Henry Robinson; Under 15 Boys: Michael Ozoemelam and Matthew Webb; Under 17 Men: Joshua Ford and Jac Goodall; Under 20 Men: Ethan Greenland and Oliver James; Senior Men: Richard Farley and Phil Woodley; Veteran Men: Dave McKay and Peter Smith.

Women’s Cup: Emma Howe; Men’s Cup: George Hyde; Chris Goodwin Cup: Joseph Morrison; Wright Trophy: Rory Willson and Ivor Smith.

Female Endurance Points Competition: 1 Ellie Robinson; 2 Angela Tegg; 3 Clare Mallon.

Male Endurance Points Competition: 1 Andrew Clague; 2 Andrew Carter; 3 Peter Smith.


DAVE ALEXANDER clocked 41 minutes 41 seconds to head West Cheshire AC’s charge at the Manchester Area Cross Country League match at Wythenshawe Park.

He was backed up by Andrew Clague (45:36), Tony Woodall (46:25) and Richard Hayes (46:35) to earn the club eighth spot in the veteran mens team event, with Andy Carter (48:27) and Stuart Thomas (53:44) earning 20th spot in the senior men’s team competition, while Joy Hickman was sixth over 50 lady in 45:01.

Mark Davies (41 minutes seven seconds), Steve Fernyhough (44:25), Andy Carter (45:52), and Bob Benson (49:08) represented West Cheshire AC at the Liverpool Cross Country Championships at Clarke Gardens.

FIXTURES this weekend include the Borders Road Running League at Caernarfon on Sunday (11am start).

Posted by Dave Alexander
12th February 2018

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu