Cross-country at home and away

SIX youngsters secured a clean sweep of three title wins at the West Cheshire Athletic Club Schools Cross Country Race Series on Saturday.

Eleanor Williams, Jessica Lark, Reece Munro, Carys Roberts, Holly Weedall, and Charlotte Walker all celebrated success at the final round in their respective age group races held at Ellesmere Port Sports Village Athletics Track.

Williams, from Kings School Chester, won the year three girls title with a winning time of three minutes 24 seconds, six seconds clear of runner-up Ella Hims (Childer Thornton), while Cerys Rowlands (Woodlands) posted 3:41 for third spot.

Lark, from Upton Heath, won the year four girls title with a time of 3:29 at the final round, ahead of runner-up Sara Pearson (Frodsham Manor House) who clocked 3:33, and third-placed Ruby Carlile (Guilden Sutton) with 3:38.

Munro, from Eccleston, posted 3:02 for victory in the year four boys race, ahead of William Line from Tarporley (3:15) and Ben Grantham of Bishop Wilson school(3:18) who finished second and third respectively.

Roberts, from Tarporley, clocked 5:36 for victory in the year five girls race, ahead of runner-up Jessica Hennessey (Newton) with 5:47, and Martha Willetts (Tarvin) who was third in 6:01.

Weedall, from Cuddington, secured success in the year six girls race in 5:01, ahead of Imogen Pughe of Childer Thornton (5:34) and Sophie Grainger (Boughton Heath, 5:41) who were second and third respectively.

And Walker, from Tarporley, won the year eight girls race in 12:58, ahead of her second-placed sister, Nina, in 13:40, and third-placed Mimi Jayaram (Abbey Gate) who clocked 14:31.

Charlie Beyeler (Kings, Chester), won the year three boys race in 3:19, ahead of runner-up Joseph Ireland (Mill View) who won the overall title, and third-placed Henry Jones (St Lukes), who was runner-up overall.

Fergus Garland (Childer Thornton) won the year five boys race in 5:22 and finished second overall behind Zak Dean, who had won the first three series races, while Nathan Robinson (Helsby Hillside) posted 5:32 for second spot and James Shuker (Eaton) was third in 5:34.

Ted Bolton, from Christleton, won the year six boys title after winning the final race in 5:12, ahead of runner-up William Sutcliffe (Mill View) in 5:14, and third-placed Henry Robinson (Waverton) in 5:31.

Liam Farrell (Neston) won the final year eight boys race in the series with a time of 12:21, and finished joint overall winner with Jack Hollins (Upton) who clocked 12:34 for second spot in the final round, and Aaron Scott (Neston) was third in 13:52.

John McGarrell (Upton) won the final year seven boys race in 8:35, ahead of overall joint title winner, Ethan Dawson (Upton) who finished second at the final round, ahead of Simon Davies (Upton) in third spot.

Lucia Pyne (West Kirby Grammar) won the year seven girls race in 9:08, ahead of second-placed Abigail Cartwright (Wirral Girls) in 10:03.

WILLIAM WRIGHT (131st in 14:33) spearheaded the West Cheshire AC under-13 boys team to 24th position at the English National Cross Country Championships at Donington Park, Leicestershire.

He was backed-up by Isaac Tait (152nd in 14:44), Harvey Tegg (215th in 15:08), Dylan Bugg (270th in 15:33), and Ethan Butler (348th in 16:16).

Sion Roberts (156th in 18:51) headed the under-15 boys team to 31st position, supported by Jac Goodall (171st in 18:56), Rory Willson (331st in 21:38), and Patrick Tait (356th in 23:10).

Lily Moorhouse completed the under-15 girls race in 23:43 for 340th position, while Andrew Clague (837th in 57:56), and Julian Tegg (1307th in 65:11) finished the senior mens race.

ALEX STANIFORTH (ninth in 19:15) was the first West Cheshire AC finisher at the Delamere 5k parkrun. Clubmate Rob Freeman (fifth in 21:07) was first West Cheshire finisher at the Ellesmere Port 5k parkrun.

FIFTEEN West Cheshire AC youngsters have been selected to represent Cheshire.

Nathan Partington, Matthew Webb, Harvey Tegg, Tom Weaver, Michael Maxwell, and Ethan Butler will compete for the county under 13 boys team at the North West Regional Sportshall Athletics Finals being held at Sportcity, Manchester, this Saturday, (March 5).

The quartet of Abi Pawlett, Anna Crayston, Tamsin O`Keefe and Emma Ashcroft will line-up for the Cheshire under 13 girls squad.

Beth McMahon will compete for the Cheshire under 15 girls, and the quartet of Ewan Brandon, Josh Ford, David Dentith, and Jac Goodall will be members of the county under 15 boys squad.

EIGHT West Cheshire AC members have been selected to represent Cheshire at the English Schools Cross Country Championships this Saturday, (March 5).

Sonny Dean, Sion Roberts, Jack Dodd, Ethan Greenland, Christy Mageean, Anna Crayston, Issy Clarke and Katie Clarke have all been called-up to compete at Wollaton Park, Nottingham.

ENTRIES are now being accepted for the Chester Spring 5 five-mile road race being held at Cheshire County Sports Club, Upton, Chester, on Wednesday, April 13, (7pm start).

The online entry link is:

ENTRIES are now being accepted for the Liverpool Throws and Jumps Competition which is being held at Wavertree Athletics Centre, on Saturday, April 9.

WEST CHESHIRE AC is helping to organise the Sport Relief Mile at Ellesmere Port Sports Village on Sunday, March 20, (10am start). Further details can be found online at

OTHER fixtures this weekend include a Deeside Indoor Meeting at Connahs Quay on Saturday; the Wrexham Marathon and Half Marathon on Sunday (9am start); the Sale Harriers Indoor Open Meeting on Sunday; and the St. Helens 10k on Sunday.

Nick Pagan
Latest posts by Nick Pagan (see all)
Posted by Nick Pagan
29th February 2016

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu