Success celebrated at Cheshire View

EMMA HOWE and George Hyde celebrated success at the 2016 West Cheshire Athletic Club presentation evening.

The duo and other members were presented with trophies by invited guest, double Great Britain Paralympian footballer, Matthew Dimbylow, at Cheshire View, Christleton.

Howe won the womens cup after enjoying a memorable 12 months which featured under 15 girls javelin title victories at the Northern Championships and Cheshire Championships, and medal displays at the England Athletics Championships at Bedford and English Schools Championships at Gateshead.

Hyde was announced as the mens cup winner after securing the under 15 boys shot put titles at the Cheshire, Northern and England Athletics Championships, and after hitting a new personal best of 14.37m for victory at the Northern Indoor Championships in Sheffield last month.

Sonny Dean received the Chris Goodwin Memorial Cup from Claire Goodwin after impressive improvements in his personal best times last season in both the 800m and 1500m, while Daniel Pagan and Nathan Partington were joint winners of the Wright Cup.

Bob Benson and over-60 and over-65 mens club marathon record-holder Richard Batterham won awards in the veteran mens age group, and multiple record holder Rosemary Rogers won the veteran womens award.

Anest Muller and Alice McMahon claimed the senior womens age group prizes, while Mark Davies and Dave McKay were presented with the senior mens awards.

Sophie Percival and Emily Ball won the under 20 womens trophies, and Matthew Pagan and Mark Hearn were awarded the under 20 mens awards.

The under 11 girls winners were Imogen Pughe and Stephanie Jones, while Henry Robinson and Zac Grinter received the under 11 boys awards.

Emily Misantoni and Anna Crayston claimed the under 13 girls trophies, and the under 13 boys winners were Harvey Tegg and Matthew Webb.

Beth McMahon and Issy Clarke received the under 15 girls awards, while Jac Goodall and Will Rattray received the under 15 boys trophies.

Isobel Griffin Morris and Georgia Barlow were presented with the under 17 ladies awards, and Ethan Greenland and Alex Kearns claimed the under 17 mens trophies.

Club official John Driscoll announced that Mark Davies and Anest Muller were this years winners of the Endurance Running Points Competition.

Davies won the mens competition ahead of runner-up Andrew Clague and third-placed Rob Freeman, while Muller won the womens competition ahead of second-placed Ellie Robinson and third-placed Kay Hayes.

Nick Pagan
Latest posts by Nick Pagan (see all)
Posted by Nick Pagan
9th February 2016

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

News Menu